ads header

Monday, July 4, 2011

Creation of Rizal Province

After the Filipino-American conflicts in 1900, the new colonial rulers initiated a discussion on whether to unite the province of Manila with Morong province. On June 5, 1901, 221 delegates attended the historic meeting at the Pasig Catholic Church to discuss organization of the province of Manila and Morong.

In that meeting, Dr. Trinidad H. Pardo de Tavera of the Federal Party who accompanied the American members of the Commission, suggessted the unification of both Manila and Morong into one province to be named "Rizal", in honor of our national hero, Dr. Jose P. Rizal.

This led to the creation of the province of Rizal.
Creation of Rizal Province

Thus, on June 11, 1901, under Act No. 137, the Second Philippine Commission, headed by Judge William Howard Taft, with Luke E. Wright, Henry C. Ide, Bernard Moses and Dean C. Worcester as members, gave birth officially to Rizal province. It was composed of 19 towns of Manila Province, and 14 municipalities of Morong Politico-Military District or a total of 33 towns.

Over the years, the territory of Rizal Province would evolve until it comprised 26 towns (excluding the cities of Caloocan, Quezon and Pasay); namely Las Piñas, Malabon, Makati, Parañaque, Taguig, Pateros, Pasig, Marikina, Muntinlupa, Mandaluyong, Navotas, San Juan, San Mateo, and Montalban (from the old province of Manila), and Angono, Baras, Binangonan, Cainta, Antipolo, Cardona, Jalajala, Morong, Pililla, Tanay, Taytay and Teresa (from the Morong Politico-Military district).
Author Image
AboutStephen De La Rosa

Soratemplates is a blogger resources site is a provider of high quality blogger template with premium looking layout and robust design